Injury Update

Thought I’d give you a quick injury update – my ankle x-ray turned out negative, as expected.  Apparently, stress fractures don’t usually show up on x-rays, which I find very interesting, so an MRI is the advisable course.  I’ve been applying moist heat twice a day and taking aspirin twice a day as prescribed by my doctor, and although the pain is definitely less, it’s still there.  So we’ll see what happens.

I made my MRI appointment this morning after confirming with insurance that I didn’t need to be pre-certified or have to see an orthopedist first, and I’m scheduled for 7am on Wednesday morning.  Good times.  I’m just happy that it’s not a head MRI – that’s a bit claustrophobic for me I’ve found! So hopefully I’ll have some answers by the end of the week.

I read that I can cycle and swim (or run in the pool) if I am recovering from a stress fracture, so I’m hoping to get the okay asap from my doctor to at least do that. I feel like I could run a half marathon today because I’m so antsy from not running. It’s very frustrating!

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on stress fractures too, which I learned are more common for women, and once you have one, you’re more prone to them. So if that’s what this is, I’ll need to be a lot more sensible about my training in the future. I’m still hoping that I can do the half in September, but we’ll have to see how things go.  If it’s not a stress fracture, I might be able to be back to running by next week (it’s been 9 days since my last run), but if it IS a stress fracture, I’m looking at 6-8 weeks of no running.  Urgh.

I’ll let you know what the MRI results are!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck with the MRI!

    Reply

  2. Posted by linzelcakes on June 20, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    Thanks! I’m planning to bring some Adele to help me get through it!

    Reply

  3. Been going through injuries as well. Had to pull out of a marathon this weekend at mile 13.5. Keep us posted on your results! Hoping for good news!

    Reply

    • Posted by linzelcakes on June 20, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      I saw that! That really stinks – it’s very defeating! But good for you for knowing when to pull out (even if you did run on numb feet for almost the whole half). Injuries stink!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

